top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonna

What does it feel like?

What does it feel like to be brave?

-scared


What does it feel like to attempt the impossible?

-stupid


What does it feel like when trouble might be ahead?

-worry


What does it feel like AFTER the miracle?

- - -


Our feelings are real, but they can't be our guide.

If we use them like a compass, we'll be all over the place.

They are not dependable.


Faith is a choice.

Everything in front of you looks one way,

therefore you feel one way.


God calls us to walk by His Word,

by His leading,

and He has a different view.


God says:

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong. 1 Corinthians 16:13


Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6


Living a life of faith means not depending on our feelings.

Faith is trusting.

Faith is a choice.


I bet Abraham felt worried when he told His wife they were moving.

I'm sure Joshua felt stupid when he told the people the battle plan.

Surely Daniel felt scared as he got closer to the lions.

We know fear started to take over when Peter sank his miracle.


And Jesus felt.

He dreaded. He feared.

His feelings didn't match the Plan.

So He prayed.

And obeyed.


My feelings will take me on a roller coaster,

but my faith stands on His Word,

a strong foundation-

sure-footing every time I obey.

So, my faith grows.

What does it feel like to walk by faith?

Sometimes scary,

maybe weird,

possibly stupid,

expect to worry


But walk anyway.


Because you don't walk alone.

But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.  

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:26-27


Peace.

Peace overrides.

Peace is supernatural.

Peace - That's what faith in Jesus feels like.

Dear God,

Please override my fear.

Please dissolve the worries and and mute the confusion.

May Your peace overcome every feeling.

Please order my steps, because You alone know, and You alone love.

Give me the strength and courage to obey - in all things.

May every miracle and every victory point to You.

Because of Jesus and through Jesus, I ask.

Amen.


For we walk by faith, not by sight. 2 Corinthians 5:7


“Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Matthew 26:41


Therefore, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: “Look! I am placing a foundation stone in Jerusalem, a firm and tested stone. It is a precious cornerstone that is safe to build on. Whoever believes need never be shaken. Isaiah 28:16


For who is God except the Lord?

Who but our God is a solid rock? Psalm 18:31


I cried out, “I am slipping!” but your unfailing love, O Lord, supported me. When doubts filled my mind, your comfort gave me renewed hope and cheer.

Psalm 94:18-19




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page