top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonna

it takes ALL

Grumbling - in the wilderness

It's the Exodus story we've all heard.

God displays His power; brings miraculous rescue after multiple signs and wonders; and . . .

the people are complaining. ??

How could they? - we think

Come on. It's just a desert. You're just hungry and thirsty.

You watched the sea open. Why would you be upset now?

We're actually pretty hard on those people.


I've heard those thoughts in my own head.

I've felt that doubt when I try to brave a new day.

I've followed the Lord in big ways and small ways, not perfectly, but trusting in His perfect way.

He's cleared paths and brought protection. He's asked for weird things, and I've tried to be set apart for Him. I try to obey. But then, it doesn't seem to add up.

----------------

When you look at the wilderness journey in Exodus, you have to return to God's own words.

He gave Moses a plan. He told Moses what to tell the people and what to tell Pharoah.

He spoke of rescue.

He spoke His promise of a new land (the land of milk and honey - - say it again like Crowder)

He spoke of worship.


At the burning bush, He told Moses they would return to that same mountain. He told Moses to ask Pharoah to let them leave - and the purpose - to worship.

God never said "one-way-flight to the promised land". He never said "no layovers, no delays".

God always intended for worship to be first.

The promised land would just be a new trap, a new prison, if they did not learn and choose to worship.

I guess the wilderness does make sense when you really think about it.

God had a purpose, a covenant, that would begin in the wilderness.

He said they would be back at that mountain, and He said they would leave Egypt for a time of worship.

But without a look behind the scenes, some see the struggle and ask: Where is your God now?

My reply: My God doesn't bow to me. I bow to Him.

Others could wonder: Are you sure you were following God's lead? Did you take a wrong turn?

I hear those questions in my head, too. 

But, the circumstance is not the validation. My feelings are not the confirmation.


My current view - wilderness

Yep - surrounded

Me and my family.

We've been here a while.

You've probably been here, too. It might look different than mine, but we all journey through wilderness seasons.

But I also see

✔️manna

✔️a rock pouring out water

✔️Red Sea in the rearview

✔️a cloud

Want to know my favorite?

The cloud. = His presence = His leading

Though I feel alone - I am not.

Though I feel lost - I am not.

I'm ready to move - but I will not - until

He does.


My head grumbles and questions.

Uncertainty and confusion make you feel dry.

Striving and sadness make you weak.

But my spirit swells like Moses.

My spirit sets up a tent and is sustained with a glow.

My spirit says “If your Presence does not go with us, do not send us up from here." (Exodus 33:15)

The wilderness is hard, but if that's where the Lord is - I'm not leaving.

until - He does.


Not only does He meet me in the tent, He shows up all around me - through people.

Our people have been a tangible presence and provision of the Lord. I have felt love and grace in brand new ways. We are forever indebted to the beautiful people God has placed in our lives.


So - as Moses began (Deut 6:5) and Jesus (Matt 22:37) continued:

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.

My heart hurts - but I give it all.

My soul is weak - but I give it all.

My mind is confused - but I give it all.

It takes ALL to survive in the wilderness.
It takes ALL to worship - wherever you are.

Because Jesus asks for all.

For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it. (Luke 9:24)

I give Him all. I strive to love Him with all.


And I remember - that we walk THROUGH the valley of the shadow of death.

The wilderness is temporary.

It's only part. God also spoke a promise . . .





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page