top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonna

Once . . . Twice

Psalm 62

verses 1-2

I am at rest in God alone,

my salvation comes from Him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation,

my stronghold, I will never be shaken.


verses 5-6

Rest in God alone, my soul,

for my hope comes from Him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation,

my stronghold, I will not be shaken.


verse 11

God has spoken once

I have heard this twice;

strength belongs to God.


The psalm begins with a Truth, a statement David wanted to proclaim.

Even more - a statement David needed to proclaim.

He shares some of his struggle and heartache in verses 3-4 and then repeats to himself the Truth of God's strength in 5-6.

David first states what God has said.

Then, he reminds himself of that Truth.

Once ... twice.


Simple, but powerful.

In distress, stress, and fear - what do I state?

What Truth do I claim?

The stress is a truth. It is real.

The problem is a truth. It is real.

But - what Truth of God do I bring in?

What does His Word say concerning that reality?


(1) David listened to God's strength and sovereignty over it.

Then, after realizing the emotion and situation were still rising in his thoughts,

(2) he reminded himself.

He spoke God's promise to his own soul.

-----------

What am I saying to myself?

In stress, in struggle, in grief, in fear - what words do I say?

Emotions are real. We typically don't decide when or why they come.

Circumstances are real and can't be ignored.

But I can choose who I listen to and what I say to myself.

I can choose to hear and recall Truth.


God speaks ➡️ once

I repeat ➡️ twice

Something new is rooted

And I am not shaken.


Read all of Psalm 62.


(image available on Scripture Art page)


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page