top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonna

So WeiRd

We all love the miracle side of things-

God's part.

It's amazing and outstanding.

It rescues, redeems, heals.

That's the part that gives us awe and hope.


But, the faith.


The faith that triggers it.

The faith God is looking for.

The faith that unlocks heaven

That begs for intervention.

The faith that will move a mountain.

That faith is weird.

It's not ordinary

It won't just blend in on a page.

It's not half-hearted.

Faith shows a belief.


It demonstrates what you know about what you can't see.


Faith is not the safe route.

It's not the middle ground where you won't look foolish-

just in case.


Scripture tells and shows us that faith requires action.

You can see real faith.


Have you ever thought about how weird faith looks?


Faith is -

- I'm building a huge boat on dry land and warning others about a flood.


- I'm going to raise my staff to the sea in front of a nation of people-

as if something will change. Exodus 14


- I'm waiting for food to just appear - every day. Exodus 16


- I'm going to quietly march around my enemy's borders

for a week and then shout like we won. Joshua 5-6


- I'm risking my life - to pray. Daniel 6


- I'm leaving a career for the unknown. Matthew 4


- I'm rolling a stone to open a grave. John 11


- I'm entering a house through the roof to help a friend. Luke 5


- I'm stopping a random vehicle to share the gospel. Acts 8


These things are outrageous!

They are cool stories now, but come on!

This stuff is WEIRD!


And people chose it.

These people had a faith you could see.


The miracles came AFTER.

They obeyed and did a weird thing first.


God called them to do this crazy stuff.

God allowed some impossible and bad scenarios.


And - over and over -

God is faithful.


He comes through.

He makes a way.

He shows up.


And He always has for me.


Every time He wanted a risk; gave me an idea;

allowed the impossible to intersect -

He has been in it.

He has proven to know best

and created the most beautiful, miraculous outcomes.


Has God called you to do something weird?


Have you ever felt weird for His purposes?


Have you ever chosen the weird?


What weird thing are you doing right now?


Are you craving some weird? - Ask Him for some!


The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit. - 1 Corinthians 2:14


Don't be surprised or discouraged when others don't understand.


I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world. My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world. For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified. John 17:14-19

Faith is so WeiRd

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. - Romans 12:2

1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Drew Yarbrough
Drew Yarbrough
Jul 12, 2019

I wanna be faithfully WeiRD!!!

Like
bottom of page