top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonna

When I am afraid (FV #6)

When I am afraid, I put my trust in You. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?

Psalm 56:3-4


I love how the Psalms take you straight to the real deal.

Every emotion is written in to those pages.


Psalm 56 says When

When I am afraid.

We all have moments of fear. It's normal. It's right. It's good.

Fear is a built-in response. It's one of our basic emotions, and God knows and understands the fact that we fear.

Feelings are meant to be felt, so why do we fear?


Fear is a result of the unknown.

What we don't know creates some level of fear.

It might be just a little nervousness, a little pause in thought or action.

Sometimes it's an overwhelming, even paralyzing emotion, but the unknown creates a feeling.


There are many ways to respond to fear, depending on the situation, but it's not wrong or faithless to feel afraid.

Fear is natural and purposeful, and God sees it even if we hide it or ignore it.


What God calls us to is -

Himself.

He wants fear to bring us to Him.

In Psalm 56 David is demonstrating how Truth matches up with our fear.

When I am afraid, I put my trust in You.

So - why does God make such a difference when we experience fear?

The same reason a little kid runs to his mom - "I don't know what's happening, but -

she does."

A child might be scared of what he doesn't know or understand, but he knows mom is bigger and mom knows. She will help.


We can trust God, because God knows.

You don't know about tomorrow - but God does.

You don't know about this storm - but God does.

You don't know which way is best - but God does.

You don't know what that sound was - but God does.


God knows, and He says we can run to Him.

He says He understands that we fear and understands why we fear.

And the ultimate truth is that nothing you fear comes even close to the power of your God.

He is bigger and stronger. He is able.


I trust God, and it changes the way I deal with fear.

That doesn't mean my heart doesn't race and the tears don't fall, but I can face anything with my God who knows all things.

Besides - What can flesh do to me?


Read all of Psalm 56 - especially verse 8.


Run to God with your fears.


(download on Memory Verses page)


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page